Scientific Advisory Board


Prof. John A Kanis


Prof. John A Kanis, International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) President, UK

Prof. Kanis’ research interests are largely related to disorders of skeletal metabolism including osteoporosis, Paget’s disease of bone, hyperparathyroidism, renal osteodystrophy and neoplasia affecting the skeleton. He has also made a number of national and international contributions to guideline development, health technology assessment, epidemiology and health economics.

He holds several honorary positions including founding member and trustee of the European Foundation for Osteoporosis and Bone Disease (now the International Osteoporosis Foundation), founder member of the British Menopause Society, chairman of the Finance committee of the International Bone and Mineral Society, and a WHO Advisor on Osteoporosis.

He is Editor of Osteoporosis International and serves on the editorial Board of several journals. He is the author of more than 800 papers, chapters and books on bone disease and metabolism.

His current major interest is in the development of risk assessment algorithms and the formulation of practice guidelines in many regions of the world.

Prof. Harry K. Genant

Prof. Harry K. Genant, co-founder of CCBR-SYNARC and Professor Emeritus of Radiology, Orthopedic Surgery, Medicine, and Epidemiology at the University of California San Francisco, USA

Prof. Genant founded the Osteoporosis and Arthritis Research Group, which has been widely acclaimed as a leading source of research in noninvasive imaging methods applied to osteoporosis, arthritis, and orthopedics. He is currently a member of the CCBR-SYNARC Board of directors and a senior consultant to the company.

He has edited or co-edited more than 30 text books, authored or co-authored more than 170 chapters and invited articles, nearly 500 peer-reviewed articles in scientific and medical Journals, and over 1000 abstracts presented at national and international scientific and professional gatherings. He is on the editorial Boards of Bone, the Journal of Spine Disorders, Osteoporosis International, the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, and the Journal of Clinical Densitometry, and was recently named Associate Editor of Bone.

He is currently President-Elect of the International Skeletal Society and Chair of the WHO Task Force on Osteoporosis and Chair of the International Steering Committee for Artificial Gravity for the joint US, German and Russian Space Programs. In 1998 he was voted Outstanding Physician of the Year by the International Society for Clinical Densitometry.

Dr. Thomas Fuerst



Dr. Thomas Fuerst, Chief Science Officer of SYNARC, USA

Dr. Fuerst, Ph.D., is a trained Medical Physicist with more than 13 years experience in research in bone densitometry and vertebral fracture methods particularly for multicenter clinical trials. A CCBR-SYNARC co-founder, he also has expertise in body composition assessment methods. He participates in the design and oversight of clinical trials managed by CCBR-SYNARC as well as providing training to CCBR-SYNARC staff involved in these studies.

He conducted groundbreaking research in the use of dual x-ray absorptiometry and quantitative ultrasound to assess bone strength and fracture risk. As an active member of the International Committee for Standards in Bone Measurement, he has worked to improve and standardize bone densitometry technology. He has consulted with industry and government entities (NIH, NIA, NCHS, State of California) on the use of dual x-ray absorptiometry to evaluate bone mineral density as well as body composition, and he has advised industry on the design and development of new devices for the assessment of bone mineral density.

Prof. Claus-C. Glüer


Prof. Claus-C. Glüer, Professor of Medical Physics in the Department of Diagnostic Radiology, University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein in Kiel, Germany

Prof. Glüer’s research is focused on the development of innovative quantitative parametric and molecular imaging techniques. Working in the field of osteoporosis for more than 20 years, he has contributed specifically to the development of bone densitometry, quantitative ultrasound, and high-resolution computed tomography approaches.

He is associate editor of Osteoporosis International and a member of 15 professional societies. He is the current President of the Germany Academy of Bone and Joint Sciences and has published more than 140 original papers.


Prof. Peyman Hadji, Head of the Department of Endocrinology, Reproductive Medicine and Osteoporosis and Professor of Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Endocrinology at Philipps-Universität, Marburg, Germany

Prof. Hadji is a Board Member and the treasurer of the Dachverband Osteologie (DVO) and the Vice President of the German Menopause Society. He is also an active member of several oncology societies and osteoporosis societies. His current research interest is on the management of women with breast cancer, with a special focus on cancer induced bone loss (CIBL), as well as studies on side-effect management in cancer therapies. He is the first author of a recent practical guidance for the management of aromatase inhibitor-associated bone loss. In addition to this, he has performed a number of studies on compliance and persistence in oncology and osteoporotic therapies, and is involved in several clinical studies on different pharmacological interventions for osteoporosis including bisphosphonates, denosumab, parathyroid hormones, raloxifene, hormone therapy and tamoxifen.

He is the author of more than 150 book chapters, scientific research papers, and review articles. His editorial activities extend to being the co editor in chief of the Journal of Bone Oncology, and referring for a number of national and international Journals.

Prof. Bernard Cortet,


Prof. Bernard Cortet, Professor of Rheumatology at Lille 2 University, Head of Bone Unit and Research Unit, Rheumatology Department, University Hospital of Lille, France

Prof. Cortet, MD Ph.D., is the General Secretary of the GRIO (Groupe de recherche et d’information sur les ostéoporoses) and member of the International Osteoporosis Foundation.

He also served as a member of the Rheumatology study group of the French Health Products Safety Agency (ANSM) from 2004 to 2012.

He is interested in secondary osteoporosis, male osteoporosis, bone loss associated with anorexia nervosa, organ transplant, and cystic fibrosis. He has a particular interest in the non invasive assessment of bone microarchitecture and the relationships between fat and bone.

He is a member of the editorial Board of Joint Bone Spine, and reviewer for Bone, Osteoporosis International, Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, Lancet, European Journal of Endocrinology, Clinical Endocrinology….

He has written 143 papers in peer reviewed Journals and several book chapters.